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Owner’s Name(s) (If individual list as last name, first name, middle initial. If corporation or partnership list legal business name.) Use back of form to list multiple owners.

v

Address

v

FEIN /SSN

v

City

v

State

v

ZIP Code                                           

                                        v

Virginia  Account Number

v

1. Aircraft FAA Registration Number

	 N
Serial Number

2. Aircraft Make Aircraft Model Aircraft Year

3. Date Aircraft         Month(MM)  Day(DD)  Year(YYYY)

 Purchased in VA or   

 Moved Into Va.                      /             /                    v

 If the aircraft is not licensed in Virginia and was used in Virginia for 60 days during any 12 month period, please indicate the earliest Month/Year         
 this took place. 

 Month    Year  

4. Name and Address of Seller
Name

Address

5.	 Sale Price of Aircraft, Including Attachments and Accessories  
(No deduction allowable for trade-in. Must attach copy of Bill of Sale that includes purchase price.) $

5a.	 Less Federal Manufacturer’s Excise Tax 
(Deductible only if included in amount on line 6 and separately stated on invoice.) $

5b.	 Amount of Sale Price of Aircraft Subject to Tax  
(Line 6 less Line 6a.) $

6.	 Current Market Value of Aircraft  
(This item is applicable only if the aircraft is licensed in this State six months or more after its acquisition 
without this State, in which case the tax will be computed on the current market value, or sales price, 
whichever is less)

$

7.	 Tax 
2% of amount on Line 5b, or Line 6, whichever is applicable $

8.	 Less Credit Allowable for a Similar Tax Paid to Another State or the Virginia Retail Sales and Use Tax 
Paid by the Owner On Component Parts for Construction of the Aircraft 
(Attach copies of invoices showing tax billed and paid.)

$

9.	 Net Amount of Tax Due  
(Line 7 less Line 8) $ v

10.	Penalty $ v

11.	Interest $ v

12.	Total Tax, Penalty and Interest Due $ v

I declare that this return (including any accompanying document) has been examined by me and to the best of my knowledge and 
belief is a true, correct and complete return.

Signature Phone Number Date

Contact Person Email Phone Number Fax Number

FORM AST-3	 Virginia Aircraft Sales and Use Tax Return
	 Virginia Department of Taxation
	 PO Box 2468
	 Richmond, VA 23218-2468

 Va. Dept. of Taxation   AST-3 W  Rev. 07/12

Office Use Only

Send Return, Payment and Copy of Bill of Sale 
To:

 
For Assistance Contact: 

Department of Taxation
Virginia Aircraft Sales and Use Tax 
P. O. Box 2468
Richmond, VA 23218-2468 

Virginia Department of Taxation  
P. O. Box 715 
Richmond, VA 23218-0715
	 Or 
Call (804) 786-2450
	 Or 
Visit Our website: www.tax.virginia.gov



General: The Virginia aircraft sales and use tax is imposed 
at the rate of two percent upon the retail sale of every 
aircraft sold in this state and upon the nonexempt use in 
Virginia of any aircraft. The Virginia aircraft sales tax applies 
to all aircraft sold and required to be licensed in Virginia, 
including occasional sales. "Occasional sale" refers to 
a sale of an aircraft by anyone not a dealer in aircraft. 

Basis of tax for sale or use: The tax is assessed on the 
use or sale of an aircraft. The basis of the tax is the sale 
price, including any amount credited for trade-in or any other 
transaction of like nature, except that if the aircraft is first 
used or stored for use in Virginia six months or more after its 
acquisition, the tax will be based on the current market value.

Any person who sells an aircraft in Virginia must supply the 
buyer with an invoice signed by the seller or his representative. 
The invoice must state the sale price of the aircraft. The buyer 
must include the invoice with his return and payment of the tax. 

Tax due date:  The taxpayer is required to file Form AST-3 and/
or pay the full amount of tax due within thirty days from the date 
that the aircraft is required to be licensed in Virginia.  Please 
note:  the aircraft is required to be licensed within 60 days.

Mail completed forms to: Virginia Department of Taxation
Aircraft Sales and Use Tax
PO Box 2468
Richmond, VA 23218-2468

Questions: Call (804) 786-2450 or write the Virginia 
Department of Taxation, PO Box 715, Richmond, VA 
23218-0715. If you have Internet access, you can obtain 
most Virginia tax forms from the Department’s Web-site 
www.tax.virginia.gov.

Line by Line Instructions

Lines 1-2: Complete your name and address, account 
information, and aircraft information. If you are a first time 
filer, you will not have a Virginia Account Number. An account 
number will be assigned when your return is processed. 

Line 3: Date Aircraft Purchased of Moved Into Virginia-
Enter the date (month MM, day DD, and year YYYY) the 
aircraft was purchased in Virginia or moved into Virginia. 

Line 4: Name and Address of Seller - Enter the name and 
address of the seller.

Line 5: Sales Price-Enter the Sales Price from the sales 
invoice. Attach documentation that supports the sales 
price (invoice, bill of sale, purchase agreement, etc.) If no 
documentation is available, the Department will use the blue 
book value.  

Line 5a: Excise tax - Enter the amount of federal 
manufacturer’s excise tax included on Line 6.

Line 6: Market Value-Enter the amount of the current market 
value of the aircraft or sales price (whichever is less) only if 
the aircraft is licensed in this state more than six months 
after acquisition in another state. If the aircraft has always 
been in this state, use the sales price.

Line 7: Tax- Enter 2% of Line 5b or Line 6 whichever applies.

Line 8: Allowable credit – Enter the amount of credit 
allowed for a similar tax paid to another State or the Virginia 
Retail Sales and Use Tax paid on component parts used in 
construction of the aircraft. Attach copies of invoice(s) and 
certificate of payment/confirmation showing tax billed and 
paid.

Line 9: Tax Due- Subtract Line 8 from Line 7. 

Line 10: Penalty: The penalty for failure to file and/or pay on 
time is 6% of the tax due for each month, or part of a month, 
that the tax is not paid, not to exceed 30%.

Line 11: Interest: Interest at the underpayment rate 
established by Section 6621 of the Internal Revenue Code, 
plus 2%, will be added to the tax if not paid by the due date. 
Enter interest if you file the return and/or pay the tax after 
the due date.

Declaration and Signature: Be sure to sign, date and enter 
your phone number in the space indicated.

Virginia Aircraft Sales and Use Tax Return Instructions

 Va. Dept. of Taxation   AST-3 W  Rev. 07/12
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