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Virginia Accelerated Sales and Use Tax Payment Coupon 
A 6% penalty will be assessed if the payment is not made by the due date.

Mail to: Virginia Department of Taxation, PO Box 26627
Richmond, VA 23261-6627

Form ST-APC 
(Doc ID 110)

Due June 27, 2016

.

-- Do not submit the voucher shown below if you pay electronically --

Accelerated Sales and Use Tax Payment Coupon
As as result of legislation enacted by the 2016 Virginia General Assembly, Virginia requires dealers 
meeting specific requirements to make accelerated sales and use tax payments for the month of 
June each year.  Retail Sales and Use Tax Dealers who generated taxable sales and purchases 
of $2.5 million or more for the twelve-month period ending June 30, 2015, are required to make an 
accelerated payment.

The Department of Taxation sent notices to affected taxpayers in early June. If you reported total 
taxable sales and purchases of $2.5 million or more for the twelve-month period ending June 30, 
2015, and you did not receive a notice, you should contact us at (804) 367-8037.

•	 This accelerated payment requirement is based on aggregate sales for all locations, regardless 
of the number of returns filed by the dealer. 

•	 The amount of the payment is 90% of your June 2015 tax liability. 

•	 Accelerated payments not made by the required date will be subject to a 6% penalty.  The 6% 
penalty is computed on any late or unpaid accelerated sales tax due.  

If your account is subject to electronic filing and/or payment requirements, you must make your 
accelerated sales tax payment electronically. For information on electronic payments, see Electronic 
Funds Transfer section on page 2.

The June 2016 accelerated payment will be due on June 27, 2016, for dealers paying by mail and 
June 30, 2016, for dealers who pay electronically. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal 
holiday, you are allowed to file on the next succeeding business day. After making the accelerated 
payment, you should file your regular June return by July 20, 2016, and reconcile the accelerated 
payment with the actual June 2016 liability. 

INSTRUCTIONS ON REVERSE – READ CAREFULLY

0000000000000000 1108888 000000

Period Ending: June 2016

Account Number

Name

Address	

	

City, State, ZIP 

 
Have Questions? 

Visit the Department's website at  
  www.tax.virginia.gov or call 804-367-8037
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VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION
ACCELERATED SALES AND USE TAX
PO BOX 26627
RICHMOND VA  23261-6627

Make sure this address shows through  
the window of the envelope.

▼

Accelerated Sales Tax and Reconciliation Instructions 

STEP 1 – Make your Payment Timely

Electronic Funds Transfer:  Payments submitted using Electronic Funds Transfer (“EFT”) are due by June 30, 2016.  
There are 2 options available for submitting your payment electronically:
1.	 VATAX Online – Go to https://www.business.tax.virginia.gov and Enroll or Login today. After you login, you will be  
	 provided with accelerated payment instructions including how to schedule your payment in advance for June 30,  
	 2016.  Payments made online must be submitted on or before midnight on June 30, 2016. This option is available to  
	 in-state and out-of-state sales and use tax dealers.

2.	 ACH Credit – To use ACH Credit, contact your financial institution to make arrangements with them to credit the 
	 State's bank account with funds from your bank account.  Your financial institution will tell you what ACH origination  
	 services it offers and any associated costs. Be sure to check your bank’s schedule for payment processing to ensure  
	 your payment is received by June 30, 2016.  Make sure you instruct your bank to identify the payment as being for 
	 the period ending June 30, 2016. For additional information about using ACH Credit, review a copy of the Electronic  
	 Payment Guide on our website at www.tax.virginia.gov.

Paper Check:	 Payments submitted by paper check are due June 27. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal
	 holiday, you are allowed to file on the next succeeding business day. To avoid problems: 

1.	 Use the voucher and return envelope provided in this mailer.
2.	 Do not include other returns or payments in the envelope with your accelerated payment and voucher.
3.	 Mail your payment to the address shown below.    

STEP 2 – File Your June Tax Return by July 20, 2016

1.	 Complete your regular sales and use tax return exactly as if you had not made an accelerated payment.  
2.	 Compute your tax liability without regard to the accelerated payment and enter the amount on your Retail Sales and  
	 Use Tax return as normal.  If you are submitting a paper Virginia Retail Sales and Use Tax return, enter your  
	 net tax liability. 
3.	 Determine the amount of tax you need to submit with your return as follows:

	 A.  Enter your June net tax liability (tax liability minus allowed dealer’s discount):	 A. _______________________

	 B.  Enter the amount you submitted as your accelerated sales and use tax payment:	B. _______________________

	 C.  Subtract B from A and enter the difference:	 C. _______________________ 

If B is greater than A, you owe no tax with your June 2016 tax return.  Any overpaid amount will be carried forward to July 
and applied to your July tax liability.  After you file your July return, if any amount is still overpaid, we will issue you a refund. 
If A is greater than B, then pay only the difference when you file your June return.  If filing a paper return, write “AST” 
across the top of the return.   
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